100,000 Voters Strong

Almost 100,000 Ocean County Voters Support President Obama

Despite the dislocations, confusion and hardships of the hurricane, 98,350 Ocean County residents cast their votes for President Obama and members of his Democratic Team.  Votes were cast by mail, email, fax and early voting, and a record number of vote by mail ballots were recorded.  The Ocean County Democrats provided information on where and how to vote,  arranged rides to the polls, and sent dozens of walkers to knock on doors to help get out the vote. 

Congratulations to Senator Menendez for his state wide victory, as he  won 58.5% of the vote and easily defeated his Republican opponent.  In Barnegat,  Democrats Susan Conway and Elaine Taylor won a decisive victory.  They will be joining Len Morano to form a new Democratic majority in Barnegat.

In Lakewood, Meir Lichtenstein easily won re-election to his seat on the Township Committee, where he will continue to serve with Democrat Committeeman Ray Coles.

Greg Handshy and Ernest Reevey will join Mayor Joseph Champagne, Council President Ed Murray,  Councilmen Don Williams and Councilman Marvin Sykes on the South Toms River Council. 
We want to thank Democrats Sal Martino  and Jim McClure in Point Pleasant, Miraim Medina in Lakewood, Mitch Geier in Plumsted, Peter Ferwarda III in Little Egg Harbor, Brooke Hollister and Lynn Hansen in Berkeley, Robyn Paciulli-Griffith and Ken Mullarney in Beachwood, Shawn Judson in Lacey, Eli Eytan in Toms River, Irene Merlin (who came within 7 votes of victory) and Dawn Antonus in Ocean Gate, Michael Doran and Natalie John in Seaside Heights and  Sharon Cadalzo and Barry Moffett in Point Pleasant Beach all for being willing to put their name, time and efforts forward to provide an alternative for the voters in their town and to support the entire Democratic ticket.   Their willingness to run helps spread the Democratic word and lays the groundwork for future victories.   

Our  Congressional Candidates also deserve our thanks for their time and efforts in Ocean County and beyond.  Brian Froelich, in the 4th district, gave a strong challenge to 30+ year incumbent. Brian received more votes than any other previous candidate seeking the position.  Cassandra Shober, who ran in the 2nd district which included Long Beach Island, and parts of  Stafford and south,  ran a strong and effective campaign in Ocean County and throughout her district.  In the closest congressional race in the state, Shelly Adler came within 6 points of taking back the 3rd congressional district.


We also want to thank our county slate, Sheriff Candidate Bob Armstong, and Freeholder Candidates Joseph Grisanti and Pat Barndt. All three received the endorsement of the Asbury Park Press, and were exceptionally well qualified to lead our county.

Everyone at the Ocean County Democrats would like to say “Thank You” for your support, your donations and hard work under strenuous, difficult conditions. 


But, let us not forget that, as we celebrate the President’s victory, as well as victories throughout the state and county, many are still suffering from the aftermath of the storms. Let us not forget the volunteers, the first responders, and  all of the neighbors & family members who reached out to help.  This spirit of service and community is what makes Ocean County, New Jersey and our Country great.   We ask that you continue to support with your energy and donations the efforts to assist our neighbors here in Ocean County as they recover from the storm.


From the entire  Ocean County Democratic Organization, thank you for your efforts both on election day and throughout the year.  We look forward to working with you in 2013.


Wyatt Earp
Chair, Ocean County Democrats

Marta Harrison
Vice-Chair, Ocean County Democrats 

John Kostopoulos, Southern Regional Director

Jason Varano, Central Regional Director

Christopher Leitner, Northern Regional Director

John Salonis, Office Manager

Mitch Seim, Campaign Consultant


Corresponding Secretary Tim Ryan
Recording Secretary Joanne Sitek
Treasurer Nick Montenegro 


State Committee

Committeeman Peter Strohm
Committeewoman Kay Dolan
Committeeman William Coulter
Committeewoman Susan Resch
Committeewoman Nilda Frulio
Committeeman Wyatt Earp

Committees and Chairs 
Club Outreach Kevin Barron 

Labor Relations Fred Potter
Bylaws John Ducey
Campaign Committee Greg Handshy
Office Management Jon Salonis
Election Committee Chris Leitner
Training Chris Leitner
Young Democrats Jef Henninger
E-Communications John Coan
Legal Committee Michael Collins
ADA Committee Jim Sigurdson

User Comments

Join Our Newsletter
Join our newsletter for breaking news and information about upcoming events!
Make a Donation
Your contribution will help us win crucial elections throughout Ocean County!
Contribute to the Dime a Day for Democrats Fund
Facebook Feed
Paid for the by Ocean County Democratic Committee
531 Burnt Tavern Road Brick, NJ 08723   •   (732) 244-6742   •   info@OceanCountyDems.org

Ocean County Democrats Bylaws